Answered By: Kaitlin
Last Updated: Jul 08, 2024     Views: 4876

Frozen Holds
Freezing a hold means that your position in the hold queue is skipped over until the hold is unfrozen.

Freezing a hold allows you to time the arrival of some of your holds to a more convenient time for you.

For example, if you are going out of town and want to make sure the item you've been waiting for doesn't come in while you're away, freeze the hold. Or, if a requested item has become available for you, and you'd rather not have your other holds arrive until after you've finished with it, freeze those holds.

Holds can be frozen for up to 255 days (approximately 8 1/2 months). After that period, circulation staff manually cancel any holds that have been frozen for the full duration of 255 days or longer.

How to freeze a hold:

1. Log in to My Account with your library card barcode and PIN. (NOTE: Freezing and unfreezing a hold can only be done by you; library staff do not have access to freeze or unfreeze your requests.)

2. When you log in, click on # requests (holds) on the left side of the screen.

Screenshot of options you will see once logged into your library account online with "1 request (hold)" circled.

3. Holds eligible for freezing will display a checkbox in the column labeled Freeze on the far right side of your hold list.   

Screenshot of a specific hold as it would appear in a library account with "Freeze" column on the right highlighted.

4. To freeze a hold, place a check in the corresponding checkbox on the right. Then click Update List found either at the top or the bottom of your hold list.

Screenshot of a library account hold list with button for "Update List" highlighted.

5. When asked if you'd like to proceed with cancelling or updating, click Yes to continue. (If you have any doubt that you selected Freeze, click No to return without making a change, and start again at step 3.)

Screenshot of a library account on the screen for "The following holds will be updated. Would you like to proceed?" with "Yes" button highlighted.

6. Holds that have been frozen will appear in your list of holds with the hold status and pickup location grayed out. Also, the Freeze column on the far right will contain a checkmark for each frozen hold.

Screenshot of a specific hold with the "Freeze" option checked and the hold's info greyed out.

How to unfreeze a hold:

1. Locate the frozen hold you'd like to unfreeze. Click the checkmark in the Freeze column to remove it.

Screenshot of the Freeze column for a frozen hold with the blue checkmark removed.

2. Click Update List.

Screenshot of a hold list with "Update List" button highlighted.


3. Click Yes to confirm that you'd like to proceed with cancelling or updating. (Click No to return to your list without making a change.)

Screenshot of "The following holds will be updated. Would you like to proceed?" webpage with the "Yes" button highlighted.

4. The unfrozen hold will appear in the regular font and the checkmark under "Freeze" will be removed.
Screenshot of a specific hold that has been unfrozen with the "Freeze" column highlighted.


If you have any questions or need more information, please contact us at 941-861-1110, text 941-413-2044, or email/chat with us through AskUs.